Travel & Visa Information

Immigration and Visa

A visas is required for foreign Nationals travelling to Rwanda, except for nationals of Democratic Republic of Congo, Hong Kong, Philippines, Mauritius, and Singapore. National of these countries may visit Rwanda without an entry visa for a period of up to 90 days. (DRC Citizens get a visitors visa for a stay not exceeding 90 days with no fee).

  • Nationals from EAC (East African Community: the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda) are issued with 6 months visitors pass (renewable) upon arrival with no fee.
  • Nationals of African countries not exempted from visa fee can obtain a entry visa upon arrival without necessarily making prior application and pay for a visa fee ($30) where applicable.
  • Nationals of Australia, Germany, Israel, New Zealand, Republic of South Africa, Sweden, United Kingdom, and United States of America are issued with entry visa and pay visa fee upon arrival at any Rwanda entry point without prior application. The entry visa fee is 30 USD and is valid for a period of up to 30 days.  (Nationals of the mentioned countries may also choose to get visa at Rwanda Diplomatic Missions (except the UN Mission in New York) or online.
  • Nationals  of countries not mentioned above should get an entry visa upon application before travelling and pay the prescribed fee ($30). To obtain a Rwandan Visa, submit your applications to Rwandan Diplomatic Missions of your Country of residence for processing. You can also apply online

Although visas may be obtained upon arrival for nationals from most countries assuming you are carrying the appropriate documentation, we recommend that you apply for visa online before your travel to Kigali, Rwanda.

To acquire your visa upon arrival, you should have an official invitation and a passport (valid not less than 6 months) in order.

Further information about Rwanda Visas can be found here:

To apply online:

Guidelines to fill in the online visa application form:

Standard Rates of Visa Fees: Click here


It is recommended that all travelers over the age of 9 months receive the yellow fever vaccine. (The proof of yellow fever vaccination is a requirement except for infants).

Local Transport

(Source: RDB Tourism)

  • Taxi voiture (cab transport): 
  • Taxi moto: The cheapest, quickest way to travel is via Taxi Moto our regulated motorcycle transport. The drivers are registered as official transport providers and are identified by their green vests and helmets with individual IDs so you know they are legitimate. All Taxi Moto drivers are required to wear helmets by law and you will also find a helmet provided for you.
  • Public Transport: Throughout the country, buses are used as the most popular means to travel longer distances and for daily commutes. For travel to Rwanda’s best tourism destinations, Virunga Express Bus to Rubavu  (Gisenyi) and Belvedere Buses Musanze (Ruhengeri), Volcanoes Bus lines to Huye (Butare) and Impala Express bus to Cyangugu are a few of the bus lines you can take.

    However, for travel to Nyungwe National Park and Akagera National Park it is recommended that you take private, comfortable 4x4s which will provide you direct access to the parks. For information on the bus lines contact the RDB Head Office and for more information on private hire, contact the Rwanda Tours and Travel Association.

General Information About Rwanda


Rwanda is a landlocked country situated in central Africa. Also known as ’The Land of a Thousand Hills’, Rwanda has five volcanoes, 23 lakes and numerous rivers, some forming the source of the River Nile. The country lies 75 miles south of the equator in the Tropic of Capricorn, 880 miles ’as the crow flies’ west of the Indian Ocean and 1,250 miles east of the Atlantic Ocean – literally in the heart of Africa. Rwanda is bordered by Uganda to the north, Tanzania to the east, Burundi to the south and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west.

Basic facts

  • Population:  10,515,973 people according to the 4th General Census (2012).
  • Land Area: 26,338 square Kilometres.
  • Borders: Uganda to the north, Tanzania to the east, Burundi to the south and Democratic Republic of Congo to the west.
  • Kigali is the capital city of Rwanda. The city’s geo-coordinates are 157 S, 30 04 E. GMT is +2.
  • Rwanda has 3 official languages, Kinyarwanda, English and French.
  • Rwanda’s currency is the Rwandan franc (RWF).
  • In Rwanda, cars drive on the right hand side of the road.
  • Rainfall: Rainy seasons: March – May and October – November (Average of 110-200 mm. per month).
  • Average Temperature: 24.6 – 27.6ºc.
  • Hottest months: August, September.
  • Altitude: Ranges from 1000-4500m above sea level.
  • Main water bodies: Lake Kivu, Lake Muhazi, Lake Ihema, Lake Burera, Lake Ruhondo, and Lake Mugesera.
  • Vegetation: ranges from dense equatorial forest in the northwest of the country to tropical savannah in the east.
  • Akagera National Park was created in 1934. Area: 1080 square kilometers. Altitude: 1250m – 1825m. Rainfall: 750-850 mm/year.
  • Nyungwe Forest became a National Park in 2004. It has a total area of 1019 square kilometers.
  • Rugezi Wetlands have a total area of 6735 ha.
  • Virunga National Park was created on October 1st, 1925. Its total area is 160 square kilometers.
  • Rwanda is home to 40 per cent of the African continent’s mammals with 402 different species.
  • Rwanda has a diversity of birds totaling 1,061 species.
  • Rwanda has 293 species of reptiles and amphibians. 
  • Rwanda has 5,793 higher plant species.
  • Main National Parks/Animal Reserves: Akagera National Park, Virunga Volcanoes National Parks and Nyungwe National Park.
  • The highest point in Rwanda is Karisimbi (a volcano) which stands at 4,519 m and its lowest point is the Rusizi River at 950 m.

Electric Supply

Electric supply in Rwanda is 230-240 volts.